Superintendent Of The Year

Dr. Mason Named NC Superintendent Of The Year
Posted on 11/15/2017
Mason SOY 2017

Rutherford County's Superintendent Named NC's 2018 A. Craig Phillips Superintendent of the Year

Mason Superintendent Of The Year

Greensboro | Dr. Janet Harmon Mason, Superintendent of Rutherford County Schools, was named the 2018 A. Craig Phillips North Carolina Superintendent of the Year at an awards presentation and reception held Tuesday, Nov. 14 at the Joseph S. Koury Convention Center in Greensboro. The award was given jointly by the North Carolina Association of School Administrators (NCASA), North Carolina School Superintendents Association (NCSSA) and the North Carolina School Boards Association (NCSBA). Scholastic sponsored the event and provided $5,000 in recognition of Dr. Mason's achievements. Mason was nominated for the state honor after being named District VIII's 2018 North Carolina Regional Superintendent of the Year by the Western Regional Education Service Alliance.

Beginning her journey as a high school math teacher, Dr. Mason has served Rutherford County since the beginning of her educational career in many capacities including principal and secondary curriculum director. She has served Rutherford County Schools as Superintendent since 2010. Under her leadership, the district has been recognized as an Apple Distinguished Education Program and a North Carolina Innovator in Digital Learning. Dr. Mason was awarded the Friday Medal for Educational Innovation in 2017. 

Dr. Mason graduated from Appalachian State University, Converse College, and earned a doctorate in Educational Leadership from Western Carolina University in 2010. 

"Dr. Janet Mason's vision for digital learning and digital leadership has guided her district to the forefront statewide in these areas. She works tirelessly to improve public education for students, staff and her community as a whole, and is well-respected among her peers for her outstanding leadership. She is most deserving of this honor," said Jack Hoke, Executive Director of NCSSA.

As the 2018 A. Craig Phillips North Carolina Superintendent of the Year, Dr. Mason will compete on the national level for Superintendent of the Year at the American Association of School Administrators' National Conference on Education, held February 15-17, 2018 in Nashville, TN.

The 2018 North Carolina Regional Superintendents of the Year, all of whom were nominees for this prestigious state award and were recognized as such at the Nov. 14 ceremony, included:
Region 1 | Northeast | Dr. Rob Jackson, Edenton-Chowan Public Schools
Region 2 | Southeast | Dr. Eric Bracy, Sampson County Schools
Region 3 | Central | Dr. Ethan Lenker, Pitt County Schools
Region 4 | Sandhills | Mr. Michael Freeman, Anson County Schools
Region 5 | Piedmont/Triad | Dr. Travis Reeves, Surry County Schools
Region 6 | Southwest | Dr. Stephen Fisher, Cleveland County Schools
Region 7 | Northwest | Dr. David Stegall, Newton-Conover City Schools
Region 8 | Western | Dr. Janet H. Mason, Rutherford County Schools


About Us

NCASA is the non-profit umbrella uniting 12 school leader organizations and more than 7,000 individuals from across the state with the common mission of ensuring student success through visionary leadership.

NCSSA, a core affiliate of NCASA, is the membership and professional development organization for superintendents from North Carolina's 115 public school districts.

NCSBA is a non-profit organization that represents the 115 local boards of education in North Carolina. The organization seeks to provide leadership and services that enable local school boards to govern effectively.

Scholastic was founded in 1920 as a single classroom magazine. Today, Scholastic books and educational materials are in tens of thousands of schools and tens of millions of homes worldwide, helping to Open a World of Possible for children across the globe.

2018 Superintendent of the Year Award Sponsored by

NCASA | 919-828-1426 | |

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.