2018-19 Teacher of the Year

Angela Lowery Named 2018-19 RCSNC Teacher of the Year
Posted on 05/21/2018
2018-19 Teacher of the Year



FOREST CITY, NCRutherford County Schools would like to congratulate Angela Lowery of Pinnacle Elementary School on her selection as the 2018-2019 RCSNC Teacher of the Year. The announcement was made at the annual RCSNC Teacher of the Year breakfast held Thursday, May 17, 2018 at R-S Central High School. Paul Deck, of McCurry-Deck Motors, sponsor of RCSNC’s Teacher of the Year program, presented the award.

ToY 1

The 2018-19 Teacher of the Year Breakfast included an address from Dr. Janet H. Mason (left), in addition to the presentation of Mrs. Angela Lowery (middle) as Teacher of the Year by Mr. Paul Deck (right)

A graduate of Appalachian State University, Mrs. Lowery teaches first and second grade and has twenty-seven years of teaching experience. In addition to being National Board certified, Mrs. Lowery is a Certified Apple Teacher and will soon be a Certified Digital Learning Technology Teacher. She also serves as Pinnacle Elementary’s School Improvement Team leader, robotics co-coach, and beginning teachers mentor.


Congratulations to all of the Teachers of the Year who were selected to represent RCSNC schools! As Julie Pittman, 2017-18 RCSNC Teacher of the Year and NC Region 8 Teacher of the Year, reminded us while addressing colleagues at the ToY Breakfast, “Teachers are superheroes,” and each of our representatives exemplify superpowers in their classrooms daily.

ToY 2

2018-2019 RCSNC Teachers of the Year

Carver Center - Darlene Boykins

Chase High School – Michael Budzinski

Chase Middle School – Greg Deshommes

Cliffside Elementary School – Michelle Alcorn

East Rutherford High School – Amy Owens

East Rutherford Middle School – Jan Fraser

Ellenboro Elementary School – Tammy Conner

Forest City-Dunbar Elementary School – Ashley Jones

Forrest Hunt Elementary School – Katie Boeckx

Harris Elementary School – Sanna Smawley

Mt. Vernon-Ruth Elementary School – Julie Buchanan

Pinnacle Elementary School – Angela Lowery

Rutherford Early College High School (REaCH) – Dawn Laughter

Rutherford Opportunity Center – Claudia Moose

R-S Central High School – Melvin Digh

R-S Middle School – Natalie Brown

Rutherfordton Elementary School – Allison Clayton

Spindale Elementary School – LeeAnne Summey

Sunshine Elementary School – Amanda Davis

ToY 3
2018-19 RCSNC Teachers of the Year from each school

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.