2019-2020 RCS Teacher of the Year

Kelly Martin Named 2019-20 RCSNC Teacher of the Year
Posted on 05/09/2019
2019-2020 RCS Teacher of the Year



FOREST CITY, NC – Rutherford County Schools (RCSNC) would like to congratulate Kelly Martin of Harris Elementary School on her selection as the 2019-2020 RCSNC Teacher of the Year. The announcement was made at the annual RCSNC Teacher of the Year breakfast held Thursday, May 9, 2019 at Pinnacle Elementary School. Paul Deck of McCurry-Deck Motors, 10-year sponsor of RCSNC’s Teacher of the Year program, presented the award.

Mr. Paul Deck (right) presented Mrs. Kelly Martin (left) as 2019-20 RCSNC Teacher of the Year

After earning both her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in elementary education from Appalachian State University, Mrs. Martin has been teaching for nineteen years. She has been in her current position teaching third grade at Harris Elementary for seven years. In addition to being National Board certified, Mrs. Martin is a three-time Tanner Award nominee and a NCHeroes finalist for 2019.

Of the Teacher of the Year selection, Dr. Janet H. Mason stated, “The selection committee had a very tough decision on their hands, as all of our nominees are strong, dedicated, talented teachers. We want to congratulate each one of them and thank them all for their hard work and commitment to Rutherford County’s youth. We are very excited to have Mrs. Kelly Martin representing Rutherford County Schools as our district Teacher of the Year. Mrs. Martin’s enthusiasm and love for her students is evident in all in she does, and she will represent us very well.”

Congratulations to all of the Teachers of the Year who were selected to represent Rutherford County Schools, and thank you to Mr. Deck for his continual support!

2019 RCSNC Teachers of the Year

Carver Center – Meagan Poteat

Chase High School – Donnie Henson

Chase Middle School – Emily Kirby

Cliffside Elementary School – Jessica Robbins

East Rutherford High School – Amy Bright

East Rutherford Middle School – Victoria Norman

Ellenboro Elementary School – Lacey Deaton

Forest City-Dunbar Elementary School – Lamonda Thompson

Forrest Hunt Elementary School – Jennifer Davis

Harris Elementary School – Kelly Martin

Mt. Vernon-Ruth Elementary School – Jill Scott

Pinnacle Elementary School – Leah Buckley

Rutherford Early College High School (REaCH) – Lori Lambert

Rutherford Opportunity Center – Star Coffey

R-S Central High School – Karl Bradley

R-S Middle School – Paige Fender

Rutherfordton Elementary School – Amanda Young

Spindale Elementary School – Brittany Wall

    Sunshine Elementary School – Beth Travis

RCSNC Teachers of the Year
2019 RCSNC Teachers of the Year

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.